top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda Monet

Everything You Need to Give Birth: My Hospital Bag Essentials



For 9 months I Googled, I Pinned, I asked my recent Mama friends, I wrote an insanely long note on my phone, and I STILL had my husband running around at the typical 3am actually packing my hospital bag... so let me help you. Check out this post to see my 10 things to do before labor - packing your bag is definitely on it!


First things first: go ahead and buy / find what you need, and pack that thing at 35-36 weeks. Just do it. Even if this is your first baby, even if they say you'll go over the 40 weeks. It's the last thing you want to think about when you're actually in labor, trust me.


 

Let's get to it...


FOR YOU

- Comfy clothes. This is a big one, and I brought a ton of comfy options (sweatpants, my favorite leggings, baggy shorts, etc.) but didn't wear many of them. Why? You’ll notice a common theme with all of those: they have waist bands. Silly, silly waist bands. Now I wasn’t expecting to have a c-section, but even if you don’t, your middle can be very sore for the first few hours/days. I can’t recommend big, soft, comfy maxi dresses enough - and size up 1-2 if you want to be really comfortable. I lived in maxi dresses those first few days in the hospital:

When I got home I found all the long, cotton dresses that I could easily pull down for breastfeeding and that’s all I wore for weeks. Another dress on constant rotation was this cute house dress from Dwell + Slumber (first photo above) that I got in burgundy which is really pretty, and it has snap buttons down the front which make nursing and pumping super easy. I didn’t think nursing clothes were that necessary (and I still don’t own too many nursing specific clothes) but lose, comfy clothes that aren't restrictive and you can pull up / down are my jam.

Are you pregnant? Ready to pop (or give birth)? Have you researched what you should be packing in your hospital bag? Do you know what you need vs. what you can leave behind? Check out this yoga teacher's list of Hospital Essentials to make your birth-day as calm and magical as you can!

- Nursing bras + pads. These pads have been my favorite of mine. They're reusable, so you toss them in the wash instead of using a new set every time. I'm still on the fence on a favorite nursing bra; I have a few soft bralettes that I bought purposefully big from Target and they're my current favorite. I brought a bunch of Medela nursing bras - but if you buy these make sure and size up 1-2 sizes. I think wearing these too tight the first few weeks led to my case of thrush (a whole other post/story!)

- Nipple balm. I have 2 that I like, Honest Company's and Earth Mama. They're both all natural, not thick, not sticky, and you never feel like you have to wash your hands or yourself before nursing (I usually rub any leftover into my hands for extra moisture). They're both totally safe for nursing baby, and one even smells like chocolate!

- Perennial cream / spray. I hear these are necessary and magic, but didn’t use them after a c-section. But anything promising you some relief down there after all that just happened is definitely worth it. - Peri bottle. The hospital should give you one of these, but it's nice to have one at home if you don’t want to take home the one you’ve been using.

- Soft TP / wipes. Literally anything to make the bathroom a more enjoyable place and experience, bring it. You want to bring some twinkle lights and framed picture of your dog? Do it.

- Towels. Grab a hand towel, a washcloth, a bath towel. You just can't have enough dry, soft, things.

- Slippers, flip flops, comfy socks. For the hospital floors + showers. Self explanatory.

- Portable charger + long cords. You're not necessarily always by a plug, so make sure you have a cord that's got some length.

- Birth playlist + small, rechargeable, mobile stereo. This may seem silly and not super important, but I can’t tell you how nice and calming it was having my own music that I knew and loved. I even included songs my best friend sang (Hey Arora!) which made it feel like she was there. So special! Check out my Birth Playlist here.

- Diffuser + oils. This also made a huge difference in the atmosphere and my mood during labor. I brought Lavender and Breathe (both by doTERRA) but I hear citrus is great too. At one point the anesthesiologist commented that it smelled really good in our room, so I knew we were even making the staff happy - that’s always a good thing!

- Headphones! Even with a speaker. After I got my epidural, my husband took out his headphones, put on my birth playlist, and put them on me. After about 13 hours or so of labor, I finally was able to relax, close my eyes, and took an actual nap while still having contractions. Headphones = magic. (Or maybe it was the epidural, but whatever).

- Snacks! Snacks. I went to Trader Joe's as one of my last errands hours before labor, and bought everything and anything that looked good. And things for my husband and Doula to eat as well. Hint: if there’s food there, they have no reason to leave!

- Water + any other flavored drink (gatorade, juice, etc.) This is for during labor; they'll usually give you water after labor. But some nurses or hospitals may not bring you much during labor (just in case you need a c-section), but you’re still going through an intense physical experience. I think it’s important that as long as it’s not medically necessary to not, if you want water, have some water. I drank probably 8 or so oz of water and blue gatorade during my 18 hour labor and I needed it.

- My own pillow. Just yes, yes, and more yes.

- Toiletries. At some point, there will be a very slow, very foreign but absolutely amazing shower. Bring all your goodies so it feels more comfortable: body + face wash, shampoo + conditioner, lotion, brush/comb, etc. Also bring hair ties, clips, headbands, whatever you need to keep your hair back during labor.

THINGS I BROUGHT BUT DIDN'T USE:- Robe + "cute" gown. I didn’t wear these. I wore the gown they gave me because it was really soft and I honestly didn’t have the time or a care when I got to the hospital. The rest of the time I wore that green dress - I was way too hot for a robe.

- Underwear. I only wore the hospital mesh beauties. Seriously, they were the only thing that was comfortable. Our nurses were amazing and they gave me a good stock on my way out, and I wore (and washed them) for another whole week. Bring some if you want back ups, but make sure they’re a couple sizes bigger than your normal ones (even bigger than your pregnancy size - especially if you have a c-section).

- Pads. I brought some, but honestly you’ll just want/need the diaper that the hospital gives you.

- Books, magazines, iPad, laptop. I used none of these, but my labor was pretty intense. It's not a bad idea to keep you and your partner entertained!


FOR BABY - Diaper balm. Also Earth Mama. It's got a wonderful lavender scent and it's a perfect blend of moisturizing and protective layer. You don’t need one of those cream tools because it’s all natural, smells good, isn't thick, and feels good on your skin too. (Why would you want to use something on them that you don’t even want on your skin…?)

- Newborn + 0-3 month onesies, at least 2-3. If you end up with or have a scheduled c-section, your recovery will be at least 2-4 days. The hospital usually has a few long sleeved little sleeper onesies for during the stay, but you might want your own at some point and you’ll definitely want something for them to leave in. - Socks, hats, gloves. Little ones need to stay warm and hospitals can be chilly. Again, the hospital may provide some, but you’ll learn they spit up or do other fun things quite often so it’s always good to have a few of everything. - Burp cloths. Just go ahead and buy 102,403,948 packs of these amazing ones right now. Jk jk, okay but maybe 2? But really, we bought 3 packs and just ordered more.

Are you pregnant? Ready to pop (or give birth)? Have you researched what you should be packing in your hospital bag? Do you know what you need vs. what you can leave behind? Check out this yoga teacher's list of Hospital Essentials to make your birth-day as calm and magical as you can!
Swaddle Blanket by Cloud Island from Target // Newborn hat from Centennial Hills Hospital, Las Vegas

- Swaddle blankets. We brought 3 or 4 of these soft and lightweight muslin swaddles from Target, and I'm so glad we did because we used them for all sorts of things. To swaddle him, yes (but again, broken record: hospital may provide some) but also as a easy lightweight nursing cover. Your room is somehow constantly busy with nurses, doctors, and possibly friends and family visiting, so it’s nice to easily be able to toss on something light that you don’t have to try to get over your head. We also used 2 on the way out to really snuggle our little guy into his car seat as we didn’t buy one of the newborn inserts. And honestly, I’m glad we didn’t - he grew so fast we would’ve barely used it! See his cute little picture below.

Are you pregnant? Ready to pop (or give birth)? Have you researched what you should be packing in your hospital bag? Do you know what you need vs. what you can leave behind? Check out this yoga teacher's list of Hospital Essentials to make your birth-day as calm and magical as you can!
Carseat: Graco from Amazon // Diaper bag: Ramhorn from Amazon // Carseat cover: YooFoss from Amazon

- Car seat cover. I called this a MilkSnob to my husband for months, but we ended buying 2 off-brand ones on Amazon for the price of one of those. And they're super cute. But bring one, it's nice to have that protection from people and the sun from day one! - Nursing pillow. I personally love my Boppy. I was a little too sore post surgery to use it in the hospital, but it’s so good at helping support your little one as they learn how to latch. As he’s getting bigger it’s a great little pillow to prop him up to just sit on or for tummy time.

Diapers, wipes, etc: We didn't actually bring any of these, because I knew the hospital would provide them. But if you have ones you know you want (special brands, or if you're using cloth diapers), definitely pack them too.


FOR PARTNER

- Charger

- Snacks + water

- Phone or camera to document

- Pillows, blanket, change of clothes and toiletries if they’re staying overnight


WHAT I FORGOT

- A comb. That first shower back home was painful for more than one reason!


 

It might feel a little silly to charge into the hospital with a rolling suitcase (which we so did - and recommend because duh, easy!) but it’s so important to be comfortable during this time.


This is your time to do something so amazing with your body and your mind - give yourself all the benefits and accommodations you want.


Did I get everything? What did you pack in your hospital bag?


Let me know in the comments below!

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page